The 2021 Reinhart-Heinrich Doctoral Thesis Award goes to Martina Conte with a PhD thesis from the University of the Basque Country (Bilbao, Spain)

Martina Conte defended her PD. Thesis "Mathematical models for glioma growth and migration inside the brain" in 2021 at the Basque Center for Applied Mathematics/Basque Country University, under the advisor of Juan Soler and Luca Gerardo-Giorda (Johannes Kepler University and RICAM, Linz).

The prize goes to Martina Conte for her important contributions to building mathematical theory and integrating it with biological and clinical data to increase understanding of Glioma (brain tumor) growth and migration, potentially leading to new treatments.

Past winners:

Martina Conte (University of the Basque Country, ES)
Thesis title:
Mathematical models for glioma growth and migration inside the brain

Lukas Eigentler  (Heriot-Watt University, UK)
Thesis title: Modelling dryland vegetation patterns: nonlocal dispersal, temporal variability in precipitation and species coexistence

Lisa Maria Kreusser (University of Cambridge, UK).
Thesis title: Anisotropic nonlinear PDE models and dynamical systems in biology

Daniel Nichol (University College Oxford, UK).
Thesis title: Understanding drug resistance through computational models of the genotype-phenotype mapping

Jochen Kursawe (University of Oxford, UK)
Thesis title: Quantitative Approaches to investigating epithelial morphogenesis

Stilianos Louca (University of British Columbia, CA)
Thesis title: The ecology of microbial metabolic pathways

Linus J. Schumacher (University of Oxford, UK)
Thesis title: A mathematical exploration of principles of collective cell migration and self-organisation

Aurélie Carlier (KU Leuven, NL)
Thesis title: Multiscale modelling of angiogenesis during normal and impaired bone regeneration

Juan Carlos López Alfonso (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, ES)
Thesis title: Modeling and optimization of radiotherapy treatment plans

Andreas Raue (University of Freiburg, DE)
Thesis title: Quantitative Dynamic Modeling: Theory and Application to Signal Transduction in the Erythropoietic System

Christoforos C. Hadjichrysanthou (City University London, UK)
Thesis title: Evolutionary models in structures populations

Sebastian Höhme (University of Leipzig, DE)
Thesis title: Agent-based modeling of growing cell populations and the regenerating liver based on image processing

Tina Toni (Imperial College London, UK)
Thesis title: Approximate Bayesian computation for parameter inference and model selection in systems biology

Stefan Legewie (HU Berlin, DE)
Thesis title: Systems biological analyses of intracellular signal transduction

Max Wolf (University of Groningen, NL)
Thesis title: Adaptive individual differences: The evolution of animal personality

Thomas Maiwald (University of Freiburg, DE)
Thesis title: Dynamical Modeling of Biological Systems

Barbara Boldin (University of Utrecht, NL)
Thesis title: Mathematical aspects of infectious disease dynamics

Antonio Politi (HU Berlin, DE)
Thesis title: Systems Biology Perspectives on Calcium Signaling and DNA Repair

Copyright © 2023 ESMTB - European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology. All Rights Reserved

Read our Privacy Policy | Contact ESMTB at | Website maintained by Bob Planqué and Elisenda Feliu

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software