Reinhart Heinrich Award Winners


The winner of the ESMTB Reinhart Heinrich Doctoral Thesis Award for 2017 is Jochen Kursawe, for his thesis “Quantitative Methods for Investigating Epithelial Morphogenesis”. Jochen was a doctoral student at the Wolfson Centre for Mathematical Biology, University of Oxford, supervised by Professor Ruth Baker and Dr Alexander Fletcher.

In his thesis, Jochen developed a pipeline to integrate mechanistic modelling approaches with quantitative data to investigate the question of how embryos control tissue size. He showed that various choices made regarding the implementation of standard cell-based models for this problem could influence the resultant outcomes, and derived some biologically counter-intuitive results. This work has far-reaching consequences.   He then tested various hypotheses on tissue size control, coming up with scenarios that agree with experimental observations. To facilitate accurate comparison with experimental results, he then tackled some unresolved problems concerning the acquisition of spatiotemporal data from poorly resolved experimental images, developing a novel algorithm for epithelial cell-tracking. He combined experimental and theoretical studies through the use of approximate Bayesian computation to infer parameters and determine what data are required to measure parameters reliably. The thesis has led to a number of papers published in top international journals and is an excellent example of how to combine mechanistic modelling with experimental data.


The winner of the ESMTB Reinhart Heinrich Doctoral Thesis Award for 2016 is Stilianos Louca, from University of British Colombia, for his thesis "The ecology of microbial metabolic pathways". Dr Louca's work uses mathematical and computational modelling,
coupled with data analysis, to demonstrate a novel principle of microbrial organization. His research has resulted in 8 original publications,
including papers in Science, PNAS and Nature Ecology.


Linus Schumacher (A mathematical exploration of principles of collective cell migration and self-organisation)



Aurélie Carlier (Multiscale modeling of angiogenesis during normal and impaired bone regeneration)

Juan Carlos López Alfonso (Modeling and optimization of radiotherapy treatment plans) 



Andreas Raue

Abraham Leendert Willem Kuijper



Christoforos C. Hadjichrysanthou


Stefan Höhme



Tina Toni



Stefan Legewie

Max Wolf



Thomas Maiwald



Barbara Boldin

Antonio Politi